Amateur Embroidery

About a year ago, I was browsing Pinterest and stumbled across a  pair of hand-embroidered fox shoe clips.
They were DARLING.
The tutorial was pretty simple to figure out, step-by-step and a lot of random wispy stitches all in the same spot. I’d say it turned out pretty well for my first needlework.
(I did change them from shoe clips to a hairclip and patch)
IMG_20130621_213705

(sewing thread and felt on fleece
with interfacing on patch and a clip for the other)

I researched some and found how to do my first actual stitch, a french knot, which I then featured in this little pin.
417920_515540891815140_1618755843_n

a sun brooch i made on a whim
(sewing thread on fleece with mesh backing and a button)

I knew I wanted to stitch my mother something for mom’s day and knew that lately, she was doing some awesome beaded embroidery so I thought I’d show her what I had learned. This was the first time I had used a full pattern, a water-soluble marker, and the leaf/teardrop stitch.
It took me about 5 hours to complete.
248210_517553448280551_1560534190_n

(embroidery floss on flannel in a decorated hoop)

Also for mother’s day, I decided to stitch my grandma something, I know it’s not really customary (at least for me) to get  your gma something for mother’s day, but when I stumbled  across a little stitched typewriter, I couldn’t pass it up! (She was a typist for many years)
944657_517660674936495_67859200_n
(embroidery floss on interfacing-backed cotton and a pin added)

My most recent attempt at embroidery(currently unfinished) is my version ofa fabric I saw  (Pinterest again!) which was covered in constellations.
My best friend is enthralled with space and astrology so I thought this would be perfect for her. I sewn the bag first (with a tan star print inside) and then added the stitching afterwards, Orion being the main focus.
580218_523692654333297_1100036500_n

(silver embroidery thread on flannel)

Leave a Reply

